Posted February 10, 2012 by Mike Mineo in Tracks

MP3: Moonface – “Teary Eyes and Bloody Lips”


Spencer Krug’s Moonface project will release a new album, With Siinai: Heartbreaking Bravery, on April 17th. Krug recorded the album in Finland with Helsinki-based kraut-rockers Siinai, whose previous incarnation Joensuu 1685 toured with Krug’s Wolf Parade in 2009.

Krug’s previous release, Moonface’s Organ Music Not Vibraphone Like I’d Hoped, had its high points but ultimately suffered from filler, just barely cracking our Top 50. Still, his work with Sunset Rubdown and Wolf Parade in the past has been exceptional, and with new Moonface track “Teary Eyes and Bloody Lips” he seems to be back on track. It’s a fun and concise (for Krug’s standards) effort that evolves from swift guitars to a glowing anthem, with a finale that hearkens back to the gems on Sunset Rubdown’s Random Spirit Lover.

With Siinai: Heartbreaking Bravery tracklisting:

01 Heartbreaking Bravery
02 Yesterday’s Fire
03 Shitty City
04 Quickfire, I Tried
05 I’m Not the Phoenix Yet
06 10,000 Scorpions
07 Faraway Lightning
08 Headed for the Door
09 Teary Eyes and Bloody Lips
10 Lay Your Cheek on Down

Official Site / Extra Track / BUY

What do you think of this artist?
  • Excellent (0)
  • Good (0)
  • OK (0)
  • Boring (0)
  • Awful (0)

Mike Mineo

I'm the founder/editor of Obscure Sound. I used to write for PopMatters and Stylus Magazine. Send your music to [email protected].