Digit + Stas – “Where”

digit stas

With an introduction of swelling strings and commanding vocals that remind of Massive Attack’s “Unfinished Symphony“, Digit + Stas’ “Where” certainly gets off on the right foot. The subtle backing percussion and string variation in the next section – as well as the creeping string addition around the 50-second mark – add nicely to the gradually developing soundscape, which is ominous in the vocal approach, string flourishes, and sporadic bloops of synths. The introduction of a lighter, xylophone instrument around 01:30 is a wise choice to lighten the load and help transition to the tribal-like vocal route that begins just prior to the two-minute mark. It sets up for the excellent second half very well, especially the “I’m ready” string-accompanied exultation just prior to the three-minute mark. This is a haunting, atmospherically rich effort from Brookyln-based project Digit + Stas.


Mike Mineo

I'm the founder/editor of Obscure Sound, which was formed in 2006. Previously, I wrote for PopMatters and Stylus Magazine.

Send your music to [email protected].

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.