Soft Nylon – “Be Honest” (ft. Luke Howell)


Touting a grooving bass line and infectious pop allure, “Be Honest” is a well-produced and catchy track from Gold Coast-based producer Dylan Lindquist, the artist behind the Soft Nylon project. He describes “Be Honest” – which features the confidently melodic vocals of Luke Howell – as “similar in vibe to a RUFUS track meeting the arrangement of Tame Impala.” Certainly, the bass line echoes that of the Aussie psych-rockers, while the sweltering and smooth vocals provide the ideal accompaniment to infectious pulsating synths with effervescent appeal. Production-wise, the track shines throughout, especially at the two-minute mark, when the galloping bass and bright synths combine – at 02:09 precisely – for a very memorable melodic moment. “Be Honest” is pop-driven ear candy.

“Be Honest” and other memorable tracks from this month can also be streamed on the updating Obscure Sound’s ‘Best of March 2019’ Spotify playlist.

The track is also featured in the genre-based, best-of Spotify compilation Catchy Indie Pop.

Mike Mineo

I'm the founder/editor of Obscure Sound, which was formed in 2006. Previously, I wrote for PopMatters and Stylus Magazine.

Send your music to [email protected].

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.