Premiere: Justin Levinson – “No More News”


“No More News” is a moving, timely track from Justin Levinson, one we’re happy to premiere. Steady strings and an emotive vocal presence open the song in gripping form, echoing Smile-era Brian Wilson, aesthetically. Pleadings for an escape from the frequency of bad news mesh with an evolving vein of orchestral-laden chamber-pop for a resonating, emotional impact, succeeding both aesthetically and melodically. Levinson has impressed with multiple tracks in the past, and continues to showcase melodically engaging songwriting with the excellent “No More News.”

The track was written by Levinson and Ben Patton, and orchestrated by Colin McCaffrey.

“No More News” and other memorable tracks from this month can also be streamed on the updating Obscure Sound’s ‘Best of April 2020’ Spotify playlist.

Mike Mineo

I'm the founder/editor of Obscure Sound, which was formed in 2006. Previously, I wrote for PopMatters and Stylus Magazine.

Send your music to [email protected].

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.