Posted October 9, 2020 by Mike Mineo in Rock

Bo and the Locomotive – ‘Everything Was Wild’ LP

As hinted by the fantastic, synth-tinged rocker “Heart” in August, Bo and the Locomotive‘s newly released album impresses with a range of wholly melodic tracks. The St. Louis-based artist shows well throughout Everything Was Wild, released today. From chugging suaveness in the Americana vein, like “Cry,” to peppier hook-filled efforts like “Heart” and “Modern Men,” the album impresses from start to finish. Among the highlights, “Modern Men” evolves from patiently evolving guitars into textural beauty, with a shoegaze-y glow in the clamoring guitars and backing key-laden illumination. Closer “Forever” is another standout, with a bursting sound led by a brisk rhythm section and spirited vocals. This self-produced, self-recorded effort is a surefire accomplishment from Bo and the Locomotive.

Stream these tracks and the rest of the album in full below:

“Modern Men” and other memorable tracks from this month can also be streamed on the updating Obscure Sound’s ‘Best of October 2020’ Spotify playlist.

What do you think of this artist?
  • Excellent (2)
  • Good (0)
  • OK (0)
  • Boring (0)
  • Awful (0)

Mike Mineo

I'm the founder/editor of Obscure Sound. I used to write for PopMatters and Stylus Magazine. Send your music to [email protected].