don’t get lemon – ‘Have Some Shame’

Austin-based band don’t get lemon impress on their sophomore album, Have Some Shame — stirring with a charismatic blend of synth-pop, new-wave, and glam-friendly nostalgia. They self-describe their sound as “Heatwave,” moving away from chillier contemporaries and into a warmer aesthetical mold — like the accompaniment to a breakthrough love story, rather than to visions of a nocturnal heartbreak.

The album’s title track enamors with a climactic allure; its playful synth lines and twangy guitar accompaniments make for a sound that sounds like a colorful cross of The Psychedelic Furs and The Associates. “Blow-Up” follows with its idyllic lyrical blue-skies and bouncy bass-laden charm, further impressing with the band’s melodic production. “Anything within me will blow-up,” the vocals emit during the radiant chorus. “Is this the death you’re dreaming of?”

Also impressing, “Highway 59” swells into a blissfully effervescent quality, where strumming guitar enthusiasm and starry-eyed synths cohesively intertwine. Have Some Shame is an enveloping showcase in hooky and nostalgic production from don’t get lemon, whose “Heatwave” concoction certainly succeeds here.

“Pop Star Salvation” and other tracks featured this month can be streamed on the updating Obscure Sound’s ‘Emerging Singles’ Spotify playlist.

We discovered this release via MusoSoup, as part of the artist’s promotional campaign.

Mike Mineo

I'm the founder/editor of Obscure Sound, which was formed in 2006. Previously, I wrote for PopMatters and Stylus Magazine.

Send your music to [email protected].

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.