Seadog – ‘Internal Noise’

Brighton-based duo Seadog enthrall with an eclectic, melodic array of songs on their new album Internal Noise, spanning from the twangy rock haze of “Old Joe” to the atmospheric synth-forward experimentation within “Analysis Paralysis.” Mark Benton and Tom Chadd are joined on the album by the vocal harmonies of Jack and Lily Wolter, adding a lushly gripping beauty on standouts like “Tied To A Mast,” whose metaphorical depictions of a lost ship guide into gorgeous, ghostly psych-friendly “point of no return,” mesmerizing. Jack also drums on the album, and provided production at Bella Union’s Brighton studio.

The opening track “Tidal Wave” is another showcase of the band’s intelligent blend of rock-forward briskness and pop immediacy. Chilly synths meld with a bustling bass line as serene vocals enter. “Anxiety sets in,” they latch onto a dreamier intrigue thereafter, fully immersing in the hypnotic rhythmic undercurrent and wintry glistening. Internal Noise succeeds with an abundance of quality songwriting and production.

“Tidal Wave” and other tracks featured this month can be streamed on the updating Obscure Sound’s ‘Emerging Singles’ Spotify playlist.

We discovered this release via MusoSoup, as part of the artist’s promotional campaign.

Mike Mineo

I'm the founder/editor of Obscure Sound, which was formed in 2006. Previously, I wrote for PopMatters and Stylus Magazine.

Send your music to [email protected].

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.