Premiere: Collective State – “Missing”


“Missing” is a consuming new track from Collective State, a new project born out of a love of atmospheric songwriting. A heartfelt vocal backing repeats “missing,” alongside lush synths to start, establishing a hypnotic feel. Hetty Clark’s powerful lead emerges shortly thereafter, with both vocals overlapping to beautiful effect around the 50-second mark. The flute-like tone past the one-minute turn injects a caressing, rainy-day feel to the track. “Missing” is a laid-back gem from a very promising project, who show both a knack for gripping vocal melodies and tranquilly engaging soundscapes. The track was included in this Relax playlist from Apple Music Pop for a reason.

Lyric video below:

“Missing” and other memorable tracks from this month can also be streamed on the updating Obscure Sound’s ‘Best of June 2019’ Spotify playlist.

Mike Mineo

I'm the founder/editor of Obscure Sound, which was formed in 2006. Previously, I wrote for PopMatters and Stylus Magazine.

Send your music to [email protected].

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.