Posted August 22, 2019 by Mike Mineo in Dream-Pop + Shoegaze

Jude Shuma – “Mind Games”

Based out of Chicago, Jude Shuma is an independent artist who shows a consuming, hypnotic sound throughout new 3-track EP Summer Sickness (released via Propelr Records). His psych-friendly vein of dream-pop succeeds especially on opening track “Mind Games,” where serene vocals, a tranquil bass crawl, and various keys/organs/synths converge for delectably melodic results. The release’s other tracks also succeed — “Waiting for You” shows a breezy, guitar-centered sound, while “Summer Syndrome” impresses with a vein of hypnotic guitar-pop.

Stream the EP in full below:

“Mind Games” and other memorable tracks from this month can also be streamed on the updating Obscure Sound’s ‘Best of August 2019’ Spotify playlist.

What do you think of this artist?
  • Excellent (2)
  • Good (0)
  • OK (0)
  • Boring (0)
  • Awful (0)

Mike Mineo

I'm the founder/editor of Obscure Sound. I used to write for PopMatters and Stylus Magazine. Send your music to [email protected].