Posted October 15, 2019 by Mike Mineo in Post-Punk

Premiere: Color Card – “Insecurity”

“Insecurity” is a consuming track released today from Color Card, a band that formed in Chicago by longtime friends Kyle Irwin (guitar, synth, vocals) and Eden Sierotnik (guitar, synth, vocals) in 2009. Bassist Eric Streichert joined in 2014.

An effective rhythmic change-up at the two-minute mark gears up a nice transition, where eerie synth pads and post-punk bass-y reverberations linger alongside serene vocals. The aesthetic and instrumentation from the get-go remind of Wild Nothing, as the vocals cast a melodic glow in the alignment with the ghostly synths and guitar twangs. Touting a haunting aesthetic with post-punk yearning and effective guitar/synth interplay, “Insecurity” is a stellar release from Color Card.

“Insecurity” and other memorable tracks from this month can also be streamed on the updating Obscure Sound’s ‘Best of October 2019’ Spotify playlist.

Mike Mineo

I'm the founder/editor of Obscure Sound, which was formed in 2006. Previously, I wrote for PopMatters and Stylus Magazine. Send your music to [email protected].