Ol’ RattleBones – ‘Rise: Chapter1’


Taunton, MA-based band Ol’ RattleBones deliver a bluesy, throwback rock sound throughout their new EP, Rise: Chapter1. The release represents the first of three EPs, comprising 13 songs they wrote at the height of the pandemic — serving as “an expression of anger, frustration, and an overall perspective of what we were all going through at the time,” per the band.

The talented project comprises guitarist Whitey (Mike White), vocalist Chris Emond, drummer Derek Dutra, and bassist Darrell Vitali. Their mutual admiration for no-frills, throwback rock with metal and blues infusions is audible through the EP’s four tracks. Opener “Again” pushes forth with hypnotically enveloping guitars, as the vocals exude a tender yet anthemic prowess. “Again” consumes with a melodic, layered sound comparative to more heavy-rocking efforts later.

The harder-rocking “Everyday” embraces murky distortion and sweltering vocals, remarking the virtues of confidence and competence alongside heavily reverberating guitar riffs. Lyrics reflect taking stock of everyday appreciations, resonating amidst a muscle-y rock sound that excels into a guitar-fronted spectacle rounding the three-minute mark. Rise: Chapter1 is full of memorable moments for fans of throwback hard rock.

Stream Rise: Chapter1:

“Road from Nowhere” and other tracks featured this month can be streamed on the updating Obscure Sound’s ‘Best of December 2022’ Spotify playlist.

Mike Mineo

I'm the founder/editor of Obscure Sound, which was formed in 2006. Previously, I wrote for PopMatters and Stylus Magazine.

Send your music to [email protected].

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.