Avalyn – “Sea Change”


The second single from Liverpool-based quartet Avalyn, “Sea Change” succeeds with a meshing of dreamy pop and shoegaze-rich textures. Lyrically highlighting “the loss of losing people who were once close to you,” the single was produced by Robert Whiteley (The Night Cafe, The Wombats) and mastered by Mark Gardener (RIDE).

Dexterous guitar jangles traverse into a lusher vocal contemplation, ascending with gorgeous dual-vocal intertwining during the “moving too fast,” expanse. The track grips with its cohesively impactful range, seamlessly traversing from dream-pop feelings into shoegaze-tinged anthemic allure. Vocalists Andy Power and Grace Woolston conjure an entrancing sound with their vocal performances, bolstered by guitarist Max Lalonde and drummer Maxime Meunier.

This and other tracks featured this month can be streamed on the updating Obscure Sound’s ‘Best of May 2023’ Spotify playlist.

The track is also featured in the genre-based, best-of Spotify compilation Emerging Dream-Pop and Shoegaze.

Mike Mineo

I'm the founder/editor of Obscure Sound, which was formed in 2006. Previously, I wrote for PopMatters and Stylus Magazine.

Send your music to [email protected].

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.