Stream: Xiu Xiu – “Hi”

enjoying a Sierra Nevada Celebration? good choice

Xiu Xiu – Hi

Xiu Xiu has a new song available for streaming from their upcoming album Always, due out on February 27th on Bella Union and March 6th on Polyvinyl. “Hi” is the first track on Always, their first full-length since 2010’s Dear God, I Hate Myself. It is produced by Deerhoof’s Greg Saunier and mixed by John Congleton (Antony and the Johnsons, Explosions In The Sky, the Roots). The band’s press release looks at a few songs from the album: “Stewart’s willingness to broach any subject finds him confronting both the topical and the intimate in equally meaningful ways: “Factory Girls” chronicles the sexual objectification and desperate existence of Chinese female, migrant workers, whilst “Joey’s Song” seeks to bring comfort to Stewart’s brother in the aftermath of a family tragedy.

“Hi” is most reflective of Jamie Stewart’s admiration of Kraut-rock and dance. A grimy clanking serves as the most dominant percussion, with a blaring synth bringing to mind electronic dance in the vein of The Knife. Still, this is far from a dance track, and that becomes increasingly prevalent as the song goes on. It eventually turns into something more along the lines of “No Friend Oh!”. The synths eventually squiggle playfully, especially as Stewart touches on the irritability of forced politeness. “If your bra is on fire say hi, if you’re bed is a living hell say hi,” he sings, the keys riding the same clicking pattern as on “Bishop, CA“. “If you have poked out your eyes say hi.”

Always tracklist:

01 “Hi”
02 “Joey’s Song”
03 “Beauty Towne”
04 “Honeysuckle”
05 “I Luv Abortion”
06 “The Oldness”
07 “Chimneys Afire”
08 “Gul Mudin”
09 “Born to Suffer”
10 “Factory Girls”
11 “Smear the Queen”
12 “Black Drum Machine”

Official Site / BUY

Mike Mineo

I'm the founder/editor of Obscure Sound, which was formed in 2006. Previously, I wrote for PopMatters and Stylus Magazine.

Send your music to [email protected].

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.