Future Silence – “Kansas Plains”


Future Silence are a newly formed band from Chicago, whose self-titled EP spans from fuzzy melodic rock of first single “Kansas Plains” to nocturnal, hazy atmospherics (“The Near Miss”). The EP released September 13th via Australian label Half a Cow (owned by former Lemonheads’ Nic Dalton), recorded with Balthazar de Ley (Martha’s Music, Balthazar Audio Systems). “Ealing Broadway” and “The Near Miss” represent a lusher spectrum, while “Kansas Plains” and “Aliens” relay a fuzzier, more immediate sound. Closer “All Is Numbers” sits enjoyably in the middle. “Kansas Plains” is a great opener, with playful synths, chugging guitars, and an anthemic chorus/hook encouraging ample replay.

Stream the impressive EP below:

“Kansas Plains” and other memorable tracks from this month can also be streamed on the updating Obscure Sound’s ‘Best of September 2019’ Spotify playlist.

Mike Mineo

I'm the founder/editor of Obscure Sound, which was formed in 2006. Previously, I wrote for PopMatters and Stylus Magazine.

Send your music to [email protected].

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.