The Shins Announce New Album

The Shins will release a new album, Port of Morrow, this March. It will be heavy on frontman James Mercer as usual, who wrote all ten new tracks and is responsible for the majority of instrumentation.┬áThe album is produced by Grammy-nominated producer Greg Kurstin, one half of The Bird and the Bee and past producer for the likes of Lily Allen, Britney Spears, and Foster the People. The Shins’ fourth full-length album, Port of Morrow follows up 2007’s Wincing the Night Away.

The Shins left Sub Pop in 2008, and since then had been largely inactive until this past summer, when they announced via Facebook that new material would be announced shortly. A week later, the band announced a new album in 2012 on Aural Apothecary, James Mercer’s label. It will also be released via Columbia Records, making Port of Morrow their first release on a major label.

01. The Rifle’s Spiral
02. Simple Song
03. It’s Only Life
04. No Way Down
05. September
06. Bait and Switch
07. Fall of ’82
08. For a Fool
09. 40 Mark Strasse
10. Port of Morrow

The Shins – Caring Is Creepy

MP3: The Shins – Turn On Me

Official Site / BUY

Mike Mineo

I'm the founder/editor of Obscure Sound, which was formed in 2006. Previously, I wrote for PopMatters and Stylus Magazine.

Send your music to [email protected].

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.