0
Posted January 30, 2012 by Mike Mineo in Tracks
 
 

New Shabazz Palaces Video + Tour Dates

Shabazz Palaces had a great 2011 with one of the year’s most inventive hip-hop releases, Black Up (2011: #7). The duo of Ishmael Butler (‘Butterfly’ from Digable Planets) and Tendai Marair aren’t stopping for 2012, though. In addition to producing a new video for one of the album’s best tracks, “Are You… Can You… Were You? (Felt)”, they announced a world tour. Like Spiritualized’s recent tour, they are kicking off their stateside dates in Minneapolis. Then they’ll cover some dates in the midwest before going to Pennsylvania, a slight pit stop before they hit up Canada for two dates on 4/10 and 4/11. Then they’re back to the East Coast.

Shabazz Palaces 2012 Tour:

Saturday, February 18, 2012 La Cave aux poetes, Roubaix France

Sunday, February 19, 2012 Stereolux, Nantes France

Monday February 20, 2012 Les Trinitaires, Metz France

Tuesday February 21, 2012 Strasbourg La Laiterie, France

Friday February 24, 2012 Palace, St Gallen Switzerland

Saturday, February 25, 2012 Stall 6, Zurich Switzerland

Wednesday, February 29, 2012 Astoria, Turin Italy

Thursday, March 01, 2012 Circolo degli Artisti, Rome Italy

Friday, March 02, 2012 Bronson, Ravenna Italy

Saturday, March 03, 2012 Studio 2 Vigonovo (Venezia) Italy

Tuesday, April 3, 2012 The Whole, Minneapolis MN (All Ages Show)

Wednesday, April 4, 2012 Mad Planet. Milwaukee WI

Thursday, April 5, 2012 Lincoln Hall, Chicago IL

Friday, April 6, 2012 Magic Stick, Detroit MI

Saturday, April 7, 2012 The Horn Gallery, Gambier OH

Sunday, April 2012 The Shadow Lounge, East Liberty PA

Tuesday, April 10, 2012 Lee’s Palace, Toronto ON

Wednesday, April 11, 2012 II Motore, Montreal QC

Thursday, April 12, 2012 Iron Horse, Northampton MA

Friday, April 13 2012 SOB’s, New York NY

Saturday, April 14, 2012 Brooklyn Bowl, Brooklyn NY


MP3: Shabazz Palaces – Swerve…the reeping of all that is worthwhile (Noir not withstanding)


MP3: Shabazz Palaces – free press and curl


MP3: Shabazz Palaces – An Echo From The Hosts That Profess Infinitum

Official Site / MySpace / BUY

What do you think of this artist?
  • Excellent (0)
  • Good (0)
  • OK (0)
  • Boring (0)
  • Awful (0)

Mike Mineo

 
I'm the founder/editor of Obscure Sound. I used to write for PopMatters and Stylus Magazine. Send your music to [email protected].