Posted March 29, 2012 by Mike Mineo in News

The Walkmen Reveal ‘Heaven’ Details

The Walkmen will release their seventh album, Heaven, on June 4th through Fat Possum/Bella Union. The album title, cover art, and release date come several weeks after the group completed Heaven with producer Phil Ek (Fleet Foxes, The Shins, Band of Horses).

You do everything you can to sound different, but in the end you always sound like the band you are,” frontman Hamilton Leithauser said at the time. “We’ve done a lot of rock in the past, and Phil has made the new stuff rock really hard.” Guitarist/pianist Paul Maroon also spoke highly of the production: “There can be something brittle about our sound. He made it just a little bit warmer, a little bit stronger. When I play it in my car, it sounds strong, which I love.”

Also revealed was that Fleet Foxes’ Robin Pecknold sings harmonies on two songs on the album, one being “No One Ever Sleeps”. That all members of The Walkmen are parents now seems related to their maturation process. “I’m very proud of what we’ve done. We’ve stayed friends and those friendships have grown,” said bassist Peter Bauer. “We have survival experience and real love that children generate in your life.”

Here’s a video I took of a track off Heaven, “Your Southern Soul”, when the band performed for free in Hoboken on 10/16:

MP3: The Walkmen – We’ve Been Had

MP3: The Walkmen – Auld Triangle

Official Site / BUY

Mike Mineo

I'm the founder/editor of Obscure Sound, which was formed in 2006. Previously, I wrote for PopMatters and Stylus Magazine. Send your music to [email protected].