Depeche Mode Reveal Album Details

Depeche Mode - Delta Machine

Last month, synth-pop legends Depeche Mode announced plans to release a new album this spring, their first since 2009’s Sounds of the Universe. New details on the album, entitled Delta Machine, were unveiled today. It will be released March 26th on Columbia, and the album’s first single, “Heaven”, will debut February 1st on VEVO. Martin Gore described the release last month as having “a similar vibe to [1990’s] Violator and [1993’s] Songs of Faith and Devotion“, noting that he thinks “the songs on the album are among some of the very best we’ve done.” “I want people to feel good about listening to this record, to get some kind of peace. It’s just got something magical about it.” Frontman Dave Gahan said that Delta Machine is “not a blues record, but it definitely has a soulful vibe.” He continues: “With this release we’ve completely shifted our idea of how to create an album. When we hit a wall where we realize the album is beginning to sound too normal, we’ll mess it up and really give it that organic Depeche Mode Sound. Delta Machine is no different, and I can’t wait for all of our fans to hear it.”

Delta Machine is produced by Ben Hiller and mixed by Flood. In addition to the standard version, a deluxe edition will be released with four extra tracks and a 28-page booklet featuring photos from Anton Corbijn. The disc release of the single, “Heaven”, will include remixes by Matthew Dear, Blawan, Owlle, and Steps to Heaven. Check out the album’s tracklisting below, and a teaser for it below that.

Delta Machine tracklisting:

01 Welcome to My World
02 Angel
03 Heaven
04 Secret to the End
05 My Little Universe
06 Slow
07 Broken
08 The Child Inside
09 Soft Touch/Raw Nerve
10 Should Be Higher
11 Alone
12 Soothe My Soul
13 Goodbye

Bonus disc:

01 Long Time Lie
02 Happens All the Time
03 Always
04 All That’s Mine

MP3: John the Revelator“, “Enjoy the Silence

Official SiteBUY

Mike Mineo

I'm the founder/editor of Obscure Sound, which was formed in 2006. Previously, I wrote for PopMatters and Stylus Magazine.

Send your music to [email protected].


  1. I absolutely LOVE their new song “Heaven.” I pre-ordered Delta Machine on iTunes, but don’t think I can patiently wait until March 26th 🙁

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.