Stream Leonard Cohen’s “Show Me the Place”

Leonard Cohen will release his twelfth studio album, Old Ideas, on January 31st. It’s his first since 2004’s Dear Heather. According to the press release, it will be “arguably the most overtly spiritual” album of Cohen’s career. “The album’s ten songs poetically address some of the most profound quandaries of human existence – the relationship to a transcendent being, love, sexuality, loss and death.”

“Show Me the Place”, the first released song from the album, touts the unmistakeable religious feel the press release refers to. Not in the loudly excitable Baptist vein, but rather the tranquil cathedral feel of an intimate mass. Choir-like female vocals intertwining over strings and a gentle organ during the song’s latter half is prominent, while Cohen’s leading croon sounds as ragged and whiskey-tinged as usual — in the most complementary sense possible.

Check out the album art above, and the track listing for Old Ideas below:

01. Going Home
02. Amen
03. Show Me the Place
04. The Darkness
05. Anyhow
06. Crazy to Love You
07. Come Healing
08. Banjo
09. Lullaby
10. Different Sides

Leonard Cohen – Show Me the Place

Official Site / BUY

Mike Mineo

I'm the founder/editor of Obscure Sound, which was formed in 2006. Previously, I wrote for PopMatters and Stylus Magazine.

Send your music to [email protected].

1 Comment

  1. There’s something about Leonard Cohen’s voice that has such a strong presence, even when it is almost a whisper, it cuts you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.