Deerhunter Reveal New Album, Monomania


Deerhunter new album in 2013

Deerhunter will release their fifth studio album, Monomania, on May 7th via 4ADMonomania was recorded at Brooklyn’s Rare Book Room Studio with producer Nicolas Vernhes, who along with frontman Bradford Cox recorded the album “via multiple 8trax.” It marks the first Deerhunter release for new bassist Josh McKay, who took over for Josh Fauver. The press release read:

Mystery disc of NOCTURNAL GARAGE. rat tapes / NEW FORMAT
is avant garde(?) but only in context not form (original intent of avant garde (1912-59) / before logic:FOG MACHINE / LEATHER / NEON

The word “monomania” means “exaggerated enthusiasm for or preoccupation with one thing”, and one can expect Cox’s superb attention to production detail to return on this follow-up to 2010’s excellent Halcyon Digest (2010: #5). Cox mentioned the term in a 2011 interview with Rolling Stone: “The other guys in Deerhunter, they all found things. And I just have monomania. I always will. I’m obsessive about one thing, that there’s one thing that’s going to make me happy and it’s making music, or there’s one thing that’s going to make me happy and it’s this person.”

Deerhunter - Monomania cover art

Monomania track listing:

01 Neon Junkyard
02 Leather Jacket II
03 The Missing
04 Pensacola
05 Dream Captain
06 Blue Agent
07 T.H.M.
08 Sleepwalking
09 Back to the Middle
10 Monomania
11 Nitebike
12 Punk (La Vie Anté:rieure)

Official Site / MySpace / BUY

Mike Mineo

I'm the founder/editor of Obscure Sound, which was formed in 2006. Previously, I wrote for PopMatters and Stylus Magazine.

Send your music to [email protected].

1 Comment

  1. Halcyon Digest was pretty great. Every time I read the album title I see “Menomena” though. Have to wait and see if it’s an influence haha.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.