Everything by Electricity – “Promises”


Gorgeous dream-pop track “Promises” is the latest from Everything by Electricity, the project of Siberian-born songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Yulia Bizyukova. The initial bass line exudes warm New Order-esque vibes, converging with graceful synth tones before the vocals’ emergence. From there, a dazzling synth-driven dream-pop sound — reminiscent of Chromatics — leads into a series of bursting melodic moments. The first, around 01:46, exudes a sweepingly harmonious feel that captivates. Similar moments appear throughout, book-ended by the atmospheric verses. “Promises” is a beauty of a track from Everything by Electricity, from recently released debut album Time Without Time.

This project first caught our ear back in 2013, and it’s exciting to hear their debut achieve such a standout sound.

“Promises” and other memorable tracks from this month can also be streamed on the updating Obscure Sound’s ‘Best of March 2021’ Spotify playlist.

The track is also featured in the genre-based, best-of Spotify compilation Emerging Dream-Pop.

Mike Mineo

I'm the founder/editor of Obscure Sound, which was formed in 2006. Previously, I wrote for PopMatters and Stylus Magazine.

Send your music to [email protected].

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.