The Return of Sean Lennon

It has been eight years since Sean Lennon released his debut album, Into the Sun. The album had several faults, as it didn’t flow very well as an album, but it still had its moments and showcased incredible potential. This was only to be expected because, after all, he is the son of John Lennon and Yoko Ono. For the past eight years, the only interesting topic concering Sean was who he was dating, which ranged from Cibo Matto to Leelee Sobieski to Mick Jagger’s daughter. Finally, he is delivering his second album Friendly Fire this September and I must say, it is a huge step up. Sean’s vocals are noticably higher than his father John and his half-brother Julian, but he handles them well and maintains key. His musical style does not stray too far from John Lennon and Paul McCartney, though some of Sean’s songs contain some orchestral additions that sound similar to McCartney’s latest solo efforts.

While his debut album seemed to skip around a variety of genres, Friendly Fire focuses on a consistent and lovely sound. Sean seems to be much more comfortable with himself musically and it sounds as if he really improved on his talents. There is a high probability that most reviews or articles that you read about Sean’s new album will be slightly biased, as if people expect him to be the second coming of his father. If you dismiss his parents’ popularity and talent, you should still find that Friendly Fire is a very good sophomore album. ‘Parachute’ and ‘Wait For Me’ are both lush arrangements, with ‘Parachute’ containing some suitable lyrics. “Love is like an aeroplane, you jump and then you pray,” Lennon reveals, “lucky ones remain in the clouds for days”. The chorus in particular is stellar over some haunting keys. Those haunting keys come back for a visit in ‘Wait For Me’, which is an acoustically charged ballad similar to McCartney’s ‘Too Much Rain’. ‘Spectacle’ starts off slowly but eventually builds into a very delicate but energetic chorus with slightly audible but effective strings. Sean definitely has an ear for vocal melody, like his father. Friendly Fire is an extremely enjoyable album in its entirety, whether it was created by a Lennon or not.

Sean Lennon – Parachute


Sean Lennon – Wait For Me


Sean Lennon – Spectacle


Friendly Fire Video Preview

This video preview of the album is fantastically done. It goes through several scenarios of Sean witnessing unrequited love, from medieval to modern times. It even features such big names as Bijou Philips, Asia Argento, and uh… Lindsay Lohan? Yep, she’s even in there. All those big names and Sean are in this entertaining bit that is just under four minutes. Check it out, for sure.
Official Web Site


Mike Mineo

I'm the founder/editor of Obscure Sound, which was formed in 2006. Previously, I wrote for PopMatters and Stylus Magazine.

Send your music to [email protected].


  1. eeek. i’ve been sitting on this for a bit. i know someone at capitol that told me yoko’s lawyers are ridiculous and don’t understand blogs. you’re much braver than me!

  2. Thanks so much for uploading these… ever since I saw the trailer for his new album, I fell in love with ‘Parachute’ – it’s great to hear the full version. This album sounds so sophisticated… I wouldn’t be surprised if it was nominated for a few Grammy’s.

  3. Dang! This is good stuff. Parachute is incredible! Gotta get this CD when it comes out in September.

  4. This is the only forseeable CD I am looking forward. Sean has really improved drastically since Into The Sun, but I still enjoy that album also. Friendly Fire will be a classic!

  5. Hard to imagine anything more inappropriate than Sean hanging around with Lindsay Lohan and having her on his video. Lohan is involved in a movie project which will provided obscene public attention for the pathetic loser who murdered John Lennon. Since the pathetic loser who killed John did it to get attention, Lohan is rewarding him. Any one with any taste or common sense will avoid her irresponsible movie and any other project featuring this nasty and talentless woman. I can only hope Lohan’s irresponsible behavior destroys her career before the film is finished.

  6. wow! last thing i remember about SL before this was … well i dont . but these tracks r amazing and ill defenately buy the album 😀 thanx for the tracks

  7. How strangely enjoyable. The last time I heard SL was when he was touring with Cibo Matto… listening to this makes me think of the whimsical.

  8. Sean great work keep it up it’s great can’t wait for the album I have a lot of respect for your work I love those songs. Keep it up.

  9. Thanx to the onovox list’s Mike i can enjoy these jewels of music. It seems so simple when the end result is here, but why are so few really enticing songs out there? I bet these are runners. Sean, you lightened up my day.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.